Social Media Addictions

As most college students will boldly admit, I too am a facebook junkie. According to the home page of the site, “Facebook is a social utility that connects you with the people around you.” And boy, does it! These days, for an often procrastinating college student, it is also a wonderful distraction from homework, a mode of stalking friends whom you wouldn’t normally know so much about, and a way to stay in contact with friends from the past whom you wouldn’t normally think to call. But more than anything else, it’s an addiction.

As part of my advanced PR writing class, our professor, Tiffany Derville, assigned and recommended that we sign up for even more social networking Web sites. These included Twitter, Linked In and PR Open Mic. Appreciating the idea of being better networked in the realm of public relations, I signed right up without a second thought. Now, however, I have come to realize the time-sucking implications of being more involved. Now, not only do I have a facebook infatuation, but like David Alston and other PR professionals, I am a social media addict.

This isn’t necessarily a bad thing. I have become so interested in the possibilities associated with these sites that I’ve begun to research other possible uses for them. Twitter, for example is not simple the update mechanism I initial assumed it was. It has been formed into a tool for connecting people in a web-like network that can be a support system, a job leveraging tool, or a way of asking questions to a large group of people with a variety of interests, careers and knowledge.

In my 48 hours of Twitter use, I have become an enthusiast.

I would be interested in hearing the pros and cons that others have found using the world wide social-media web.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Social Media Addictions

  1. Stephanie,

    I’m glad to hear that you are enjoying your journey into social media! It is a great way to join contemporary conversations about public relations. You will be up-to-date on issues for your job interviews, you can develop a network of professional contacts before even looking for a job, and you might even be recruited based on your social media use! I think there are many benefits. On the other hand, social media is time consuming, and it’s important that you keep the other commitments that you have in life.

    Tiffany

  2. Stephanie,
    Signing up for all these social networks, Facebook, PR Open Mic, and all the rest, is like flirting with addiction. I completely agree with you when you said how time consuming they are and how much they make you want to use them for procrastination purposes. I find myself falling prey to them all the time. The one benefit I see, however, is like you mentioned, try to use them for something constructive, like staying in touch with employers or old friends. I think it’s all about finding that delicate balance between work and play. But hey, why not do both?!

    Liz

  3. Pingback: How Much is Too Much? « PRotocol

Leave a Reply

