The Social Media Pitch

Yesterday my little sister called me and said, “Stephanie, I’ve decided what I want to go to school for. I want to be a computer genius.” This made me laugh.

My sister graduated from high school a year ago. She has taken a year off to decide what to do before dumping thousands on an education. The reason I laughed at this sudden exclamation is because she doesn’t really know anything about computers. However, she has decided that is what she wants to be good at.

I thought back to this conversation when I was reading over a blog post on Communication Overtones by Kami Huyse, “Start Small to Make Big Waves in Social Media.” I realized that I want to be a social media genius. As I’ve said before, the dive into social media is great. . . when it is still in its theoretical stages. However, as I hope to soon apply the knowledge I’ve learned about social media, the application of these theories is daunting because of the logistical factors that I will have to face.

It is easy to say that you should “build relationships and join the community,” but HOW exactly does someone make that happen. I really plan on reading blogs and commenting to become part of that “blogosphere,” but what else? How do you pitch a social media release to that blogger. E-mail? And when is that appropriate? After four blog comments?

I guess what I’m really looking for is a template for the pitching process within social media campaigns.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “The Social Media Pitch

  1. The funny thing is that even if you found a template it wouldn’t be adequate to the task since it is different with every project. As I do more and more of these projects it is clear to me that we all have a long way to go before we become a “genius” in this arena. Still, there is some good stuff out there that lays out much of what needs to be done. The main requirement – be real.

  2. stephaniemcculley

    Kami, thanks for the feedback! It is crazy how fast the internet is changing the world of advertising, media and public relations. I guess it’s kind of silly to ask for a template that would be applicable for more than 5 minutes.

Leave a Reply

